Meet the Hitched Team: Stationery Designer Kathleen Prumo of Paper Bouquet Studio

Wedding Stationery Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio

A Wedding Invitation Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio

Hitched: What first interested you in wedding stationery design?
Paper Bouquet Studio‘s Kathleen Prumo: I’ve always been interested in art & design, but I got into wedding stationery when I designed invitations for my twin sister’s big day. My own wedding was two months after hers, so I had a built-in second client right away! I officially launched my graphic design and stationery business one month after returning from my honeymoon. Through Paper Bouquet Studio, I design invitations, wedding stationery, announcements, and photo albums.
Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Hitched: How would you describe your invitation design style?
Kathleen Prumo: My style is clean and typography-focused. I am trained as an advertising designer, so I enjoy finding the ‘brand’ within a couple’s wedding day vision, creating a unified set of artwork (almost as if for a media campaign… with a lot of direct mail). The wedding invitation provides the first opportunity for a couple to set the tone for their wedding day, and the couple’s brand can be carried through to reception materials, ceremony programs, signage, and thank you cards.
A Wedding Stationery Suite Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

A Complete Wedding Stationery Suite Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Hitched: How have you prepared for your career in graphic arts?
Kathleen Prumo: I graduated from Syracuse University with a BFA in Advertising Design.
Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Wedding Stationery Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Hitched: What do you enjoy most serving wedding clients?
Kathleen Prumo: I most enjoy having the opportunity to explore different facets of graphic design with each wedding client. By nature, every piece I design is a collaboration and each project affords me the chance to try something new.
Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

A Wedding invitation Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Hitched: What is the most important consideration couples should make when hiring a wedding stationery designer?
Kathleen Prumo: Timing is everything with custom wedding invitations. Working with a graphic designer takes planning and strong communication. Couples should start thinking about a stationery game plan no later than 6 months prior to their wedding date.
Holiday Cards Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Holiday Cards Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Hitched: What’s the question I’m not asking you but you wish I would, or What’s the question that clients usually don’t ask you but you wish they would?
Kathleen Prumo: Clients don’t usually ask about the rationale behind font selections and typographic design decisions, but if they did then I could go on for hours!
Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Wedding Program Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Save the Date Designed by Paper Bouquet Studio.

Program by Paper Bouquet Studio.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Hitched: What do you look for in a great wedding vendor “dream team,” and what are your colleague pet peeves? How can your “co-workers” help you, hurt you, or irritate you throughout the day? Tell us why you’re excited to be working as part of this team.
Kathleen Prumo: In a wedding vendor dream team, members need to be organized and strong communicators. I’m excited to work as a part of the Hitched vendor team because I look forward to collaborating with the chosen couple as well as with my wedding industry peers. It is an honor to extend my time and talents to a couple that deserves to have a beautiful wedding day.

Headshot

 

About Kathleen Prumo: Kathleen is the owner and graphic designer behind Paper Bouquet Studio. Currently based in Pittsburgh, she is always returning to Cleveland to visit family and hometown clients.

About Paper Bouquet Studio: Paper Bouquet Studio is boutique design company with specialties in wedding invitation design, stationery design, photo albums, and corporate design.

PaperBouquetStudio_Logo

Leave a Reply

